Save Someone’s Life Today

You, yes you, could save someone’s life.

About 6 months ago a friend of mine’s husband was diagnosed with Acute Myeloid Leukemia, or AML.  He is the father of a 14 year old son and 12 year old daughter.  In order to save him the highest-odds treatment would be a bone-marrow transplant, and in many cases of AML it is the only treatment that can save a patient.

Upon hearing this my immediate reaction was the same as yours would be, which is “how can I help”.  While it was unlikely I could save my friend’s husband, perhaps I could save someone else, and so I found the National Marrow Donor Program at www.bethematch.com.  In 5 minutes, online, I took the very simple steps that may allow me to save someone’s life someday.

I signed up to “join the registry”, and a week later I received a letter-sized envelope with 4 “Q-Tips” in the package.  For 30 seconds you wipe the inside  of your cheeks with each Q-Tip, put it in the packaging they send you, and mail it back in a pre-paid envelope.  3 weeks later I received confirmation, I was registered.

I’m now one of 5 million people in the registry.  As I understand the process, if I’m a match to save someone, I will receive a letter or a phone call informing me of the patient and their situation.  While they do not give names, they will tell me something like “a mother of 3 who lives in the midwest who has AML and needs a transplant within 30 days”.  I can decide if I want to proceed, and if so a set of further simple tests to ensure an antigen match will make the final determination whether I, Dan Papes, could save such a woman’s life.

It strikes me though that only 5 million people are in this database.  When one thinks of how easy it is to join, and the life saving potential of being a match, why aren’t there 50-100 million people in this database?

Joining is obviously a personal decision, but I know the only reason I wasn’t in the database previously was because I didn’t know about it, or how to find it, or how easy it was to register.  For those of you in that same situation, the web site again is www.bethematch.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

